The 8th European Fusion
Theory Conference


will be held in

Como, Italy
27 - 29 October 1999

Programme Committee

H.Wilhelmsson (Chairman), C. Alejaldre, R. Balescu, D. Biskamp, J. W. Connor,
D. W. Faulconer, M. Lontano, P. K. Michelsen, A. Rogister, T. J. Schep, F. Serra,
S. Sharapov, K. Spatschek, J. Vaclavik, J. Weiland, M. Zabiego, F. Zonca

Deadline for preliminary registration:  15 April 1999 
Deadline for 1-page abstracts:  30 June 1999 
Closing date for registration:  1 September 1999 

Local Organizing Committee
M.Lontano (Chairman)  Tel: ++39 02 66173 260 
D. Farina Tel: ++39 02 66173 232 
E. Sanvito (Administrative Secretary)  Tel: ++39 02 66173 242 
Fax: ++39 02 66173 239

Onsite Secretariat
Centro di Cultura Scientifica "Alessandro Volta", Villa Olmo, Como, Italy
Tel.: ++39 031 579811 Fax: ++39 031 573395 e-mail:

Istituto di Fisica del Plasma "Piero Caldirola"
Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche
via R. Cozzi 53, 20125 Milano, Italy


The 8th European Fusion Theory Conference will be held in Villa Olmo, in Como, on the homonymous lake, about 50 km from Milan, Italy. The previous Conferences of the series have been held in Wepion, Varenna, Goeteborg, Oxford, Madrid, Utrecht and Juelich, in the last odd years.

The conference is intended to provide a forum for discussion covering all areas of magnetic fusion oriented theoretical activities in Europe.
To be more specific, contributions on the following topics are welcome:

- multidimensional equilibria and operational limits
- magnetic topology, macroinstabilities and magnetic reconnection
- microinstabilities, turbulence and transport processes
- plasma rotation and radial electric fields
- alpha particle physics
- RF heating, current drive, helicity injection and non resonant forces
- plasma edge and divertor physics
- computational methods in magnetic fusion research and related areas.


Scientific Programme

List of Participants : ( Postscript  pdf  Excel ) 

Second Announcement